RAC Memer of  ICAS Executive Committee for the First Time


The International Council for Advertising Self-Regulation (ICAS) has elected a new Executive Committee. Oana Cociasu, RAC president, is representing Romania for the first time in ICAS Board.

Guy Parker, Chief Executive UK ASA, the new elected President, will be supported by a renewed and expanded Executive Committee whose priority will be to strengthen and grow ICAS and increase the promotion of effective advertising self-regulatory programs as a way to ensure responsible marketing practices worldwide.

Launched as an independent organization in October 2016, ICAS is a global platform that promotes responsible advertising through effective advertising self-regulation. It brings together a network of Self-Regulatory Organizations (SROs) from Africa, Asia-Pacific, Europe and North & South America as well as global associations representing the advertising industry (WFA, IAA, EPC, WOO) and experts on global advertising and marketing laws (GALA). 

At the virtual Annual General Meeting on May 7, 2021, ICAS members elected Guy Parker as their new President. Guy Parker is the Chief Executive of the Advertising Standards Authority in the UK. He succeeds Lee Peeler, former CEO of the US Advertising Self –Regulatory Council and former Executive Vice-President of BBB National Programs. Lee previously served as the Associate Director for Advertising Practices and as the  Deputy Director of the Bureau of Consumer Protection of the United States Federal Trade Commission.

Guy Parker said:

“To quote the wise words of one of the founding fathers of ICAS, (I mean Lee of course), effective advertising self-regulation is “Good people, doing good work, for a good cause”.  I feel very honoured to continue to be a part of that, as ICAS focuses on expanding our network, building even better relationships with digital players, supporting members, being even more active on the policy front and enhancing our visibility further.  All of that in support of the good cause that is: trusted advertising, deserving of our trust.”

Guy Parker will be supported by four Vice-Presidents and nine members of the Executive Committee, also elected for a two-year mandate. The full list of ICAS Executive Committee members can be found here

ICAS network is managed by an Executive Committee, supported by ICAS Secretariat. The Executive Committee elected on 7 May 2021 is composed of the following senior executives: Guy Parker, President, Jani Yates, Manisha Kapoor, Karla Avila and Stephan Loerke - Vicepresidents, Charo Fernando Magarzo representing EASA, and the following members: Stephane Martin (ARPP), Hilary Souter (ASA), Jose Domingo Gomez Castallo (Autocontrol), Oana Cociașu (RAC), Richard Bean (ASA), Mary Engle (BBB National Programs), Richard Sturley (WOO),  Neman Debs (CONAR).

The ICAS Executive Committee has a two-year mandate which is due to expire at the Annual General Meeting of May 2023.

Source: www.icas.global

and  icas.global/executive-committee